
SPENCER J. COX 

Governor 

DEIDRE M. HENDERSON 

Lieutenant Governor 

State of Utah 
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

JOEL FERRY 

Executive Director 

Division of Forestry, Fire and State Lands 
JAMIE BARNES 

   State Forester/Director 

FIRE RESTRICTION AMENDMENT OF ORDER #UTCLO2505 
STAGE 2 RESTRICTION RESCINDMENT

STAGE 1 RESTRICTION ORDER  

Moderated fire danger indices and improved weather conditions have resulted in reduced wildfire hazard. 
As a result, statewide fire restrictions set in place within the State of Utah on, July 31, 2025, on state and 
unincorporated private lands are hereby amended beginning August 28, 2025 at 0001 hours. Stage 2 
restrictions on all open fires are hereby rescinded; however Stage 1 restrictions remain in place. 

Therefore, pursuant to Utah State Law, Section 65A-8-212, the following acts (also known as “Stage 1 Fire 
Restrictions) are prohibited in the areas described below until rescinded by the Utah State Forester: 

1. No open fires of any kind except within established facilities in improved campgrounds or day-use areas
on public lands. -OR- in permanently constructed fire pits at permanent private dwellings served by
pressurized running water.
2. Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle, trailer or building, a developed recreation site or while
stopped in an area that is paved or free from dry vegetation.
3. Cutting, welding or grinding metal in areas of dry vegetation.
4. Operating a motorcycle, chainsaw, ATV, or other small internal combustion engine without an approved
and working spark arrestor.
5. Discharging or using any fireworks, tracer ammunition, or other pyrotechnic devices, including
exploding targets.

The following persons are exempted from the above prohibitions: 

1. Persons with a permit or waiver issued by the Division, specifically authorizing a specified act at a
specific location. A waiver does not relieve the permittee of liability if a fire does occur.

2. Any on-duty firefighter in the performance of an official duty.

Area Description: All unincorporated private and all state lands within the State of Utah.

This order does not affect private lands within incorporated towns or city limits.

Any of the above acts is a violation of state law and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up 
to $1,000. These restrictions will be enforced by county law enforcement. 
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Wade Snyder, State Assistant Fire Management Officer
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Jamie Barnes, State Forester
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